Seven speakers qualify for nationals


National speech qualifiers– Cathryn Johnson, Reese Cooper, Dayana Busanes, Michael Fehr, Makayla Randolph, Micah Smith, Payton Carter

Seven speech and debate students are going to nationals after placing at the top of the National Speech and Debate Association qualifying competition on Feb. 21 and 22 in Lubbock.

This is the most students who have qualified since nine went 13 years ago.

“I am delighted,” Coach Danny Stottlemyre said. “It is the most in 13 years. I took a couple more to Wichita, Kan., that year.”

Junior  Reese Cooper and junior Cathryn Johnson, Micah Smith and sophomore Makayla Randolph qualified in duo interpretation.

Sophomore Michael Fehr qualified in humorous interpretation.

Junior Payton Carter qualified in U.S. extemporaneous speaking.

Junior Dayana Busanes qualified in program oral interpretation.